Archive for September 6, 2010

One big decision was which software should I use to build the site. I didn’t really fancy struggling with Dreamweaver again…

LaaMok had recommended XSitePro, so I downloaded a trial version and tried it out. The verdict? Yes, I liked it. Very easy to use compared to DW. Easy to integrate Adsense. Wasn’t too keen on the templates supplied with the software – I thought they were a bit cheesy and not at all Web 2.0. In the end I made my own format from scratch: 1000 pixels wide. After a bit of experimentation I went with a dark background. A chap called Geoff Gunning made the header and logos for me, which I was very pleased with.

After playing with XSitePro for a week or so I took the plunge and purchased it. Shame it doesn’t have a feature for adding user comments to the site. There is an add-on you can buy called XCommentPro but I didn’t really feel like spending more money. There is a major update to XSP due soon (Ver 2.5) so it will be interesting to see what that brings.

Now I just need some content…